Ali’s Books

  • Grá mo Chroí, ‘Love of my Heart’

    Long ago in a green island surrounded by mists, a people lived among the relics of a bygone age around which they created a mythology. They were a volatile people, easily moved to love or war, and motivated by a strict sense of honour.

    They had women warriors and handsome lovers, wicked queens and cruel kings, precious heroines and flawed heroes.

    They were the Irish, and these are a few retellings of some of their beautiful stories.

    A collaboration between Jane Dougherty and myself.

  • Swanskin – Coming Soon

    Swanskin is set in the present day of Ireland’s rural heartland. Dominated by her pushy mother, the last thing resentful teen, Cethlenn, has on her mind as she prepares to sit her final exams, is love.

    But the discovery of a mysterious ancient ring leads her to swan Shape-Shifter, Ruadhán, who lost it centuries ago, and wants it back.

    Cursed to live for eternity as a swan by day and a man at night, only the ring can restore him to his true self. However, love does not run smoothly for Cethlenn and Ruadhan…

  • Conor Kelly’s Guide to Ireland’s Ancient Places

    All the magical locations featured in my books are REAL, and I have visited every one, most of them many times over. This book features images and information on some of the ancient sites – Tara, Uisneach, Newgrange, Knowth and several others –  as featured in my Conor Kelly series, The Tir na Nog Trilogy. But it’s not just a bunch of dry facts on archaeology, oh no! In it, I tell you some of the myths attached to each site, why each site is so special to me, what I love about them, as well as essential info like how to get there.

  • Conor Kelly’s Legends of Ireland

    It occurred to me that not all people who love Irish myths would be prepared to wade through a trilogy of YA novels to get to them. My Conor Kelly series are stories woven around tales of Irish mythology, as found in the Mythological Cycle, and the Fenian Cycle. Now, I have decided to liberate some of them, and give them their own ebook. Also included is a new story never published before, based on the gorgeous love story from the Mythological Cycle, ‘The Dream of Óengus Óg‘, a tale which has certainly captivated me and dominated my dreams.

  • Conor Kelly and the Fenian King

    Conor Kelly is just a boy in a wheelchair, but with the help of feisty side-kick Ciara, his drop-out cousin, Conor sets out in search of the mysterious Fenian King, prophecied of old to awake from his slumber beneath the green hills of Ireland, and ride to the aid of his people in their hour of greatest need. Along the way, Conor unearths a personal secret which undermines all he has believed about his own identity. But just where do you start your search for Ireland’s greatest hero? Well, first you google it, of course. Then you ask the cat…

  • Conor Kelly and the Four Treasures of Eirean

    Conor Kelly and the Four Treasures of Eirean, Book One of The Tir na Nog Trilogy, begins an epic fantasy adventure which takes us back in time to the shadowy past of Ireland’s long-lost legend, where fairy kings and Gods walked amongst mortals, and where feats of magic, swordsmanship, and courage were customary.
    Here amongst the ancient stones of Newgrange and Tara, Conor discovers that anyone, no matter how unlikely, can still be a hero.